Tracing Shadows by Alex Liddell

Tracing Shadows by Alex Liddell

Cross-dressing, spying and hiding are always fun for me to read about. Thank you, Tamora Pierce, for instilling this in me at a young age. As soon as a read Tracing Shadows was a good book for Tamora Pierce fans, I was all over it.

Giveaway Details:  3 winners will receive an eBook set of Alex’s TIDES SERIES & an eBook of TRACING SHADOWS, INTERNATIONAL.

TRACING SHADOWS (Scout #1)

Author: Alex Lidell

Pub. Date: April 8, 2018

Find it: AmazonGoodreads

To protect the throne, seventeen-year-old spy Kali must play a male guardsman trainee by day and royal lady by night. 

Orphaned and trained on a spymaster’s remote estate, Kali is a scout who works alone in the shadows. But when a terror group threatens the Dansil throne, the king forces Kali to accept a mission at the palace or forfeit her sister’s life. 

Suddenly thrust into the light, Kali must infiltrate high society as the royal Lady Lianna while penetrating the servant ranks as Kal, a male guardsman trainee. It doesn’t help that Trace, the harsh and enigmatic captain of the king’s guard, is soon assigned as both Lady Lianna’s palace escort and Kal’s commanding officer. 

As Kali edges closer to the truth behind the violent group’s identity, she uncovers dangerous secrets that could bring her mission to a brutal end. A scout’s job is to observe and report, never to engage . . . but if it means saving her sister and kingdom, Kali may have no choice. 

TRACING SHADOWS, by Amazon bestselling author Alex Lidell, is the first novel in the Scout series. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Leigh Bardugo, and Sarah J. Maas. 

Alex.jpg

About Alex:

Alex Lidell is the Amazon Breakout Novel Awards finalist author of THE CADET OF TILDOR (Penguin, 2013). She is an avid horseback rider, a (bad) hockey player, and an ice-cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s life long love for YA fantasy books. Alex is represented by Leigh Feldman of Leigh Feldman Literary. She lives in Washington, DC.

Join Alex's newsletter for news, bonus content and sneak peeks: www.subscribepage.com/TIDES 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

  Tour Schedule:    4/9/2018-  A Backwards Story - Review    4/9/2018-  Confessions of a YA Reader - Excerpt     4/10/2018-  Zach's YA Reviews - Review    4/10/2018-  Reese's Reviews - Review     4/11/2018-  Book-Keeping - Review    4/11/2018-  History from a Woman’s Perspective - Review     4/12/2018-  Myth and Magic Book Club - Review    4/12/2018-  BookHounds YA - Excerpt     4/13/2018-  Smada's Book Smack - Review    4/13/2018-  Paulette's Papers - Excerpt    4/16/2018-  Read. Eat. Love. - Review    4/16/2018-  Zooloo Book Blog - Excerpt     4/17/2018-  Lauren is Reading - Review    4/17/2018-  Book Briefs - Review     4/18/2018-  The Underground - Excerpt    4/18/2018-  Don't Judge, Read - Review     4/19/2018-  Adventures Thru Wonderland - Review    4/19/2018-  A Dream Within A Dream - Excerpt     4/20/2018-  The BookWorm Drinketh - Review    4/20/2018-  TwoChicks on Books - Excerpt    

Tour Schedule:

4/9/2018- A Backwards Story- Review

4/9/2018- Confessions of a YA Reader- Excerpt

 4/10/2018- Zach's YA Reviews- Review

4/10/2018- Reese's Reviews- Review

 4/11/2018- Book-Keeping- Review

4/11/2018- History from a Woman’s Perspective- Review

 4/12/2018- Myth and Magic Book Club- Review

4/12/2018- BookHounds YA- Excerpt

 4/13/2018- Smada's Book Smack- Review

4/13/2018- Paulette's Papers- Excerpt

4/16/2018- Read. Eat. Love.- Review

4/16/2018- Zooloo Book Blog- Excerpt

 4/17/2018- Lauren is Reading- Review

4/17/2018- Book Briefs- Review

 4/18/2018- The Underground- Excerpt

4/18/2018- Don't Judge, Read- Review

 4/19/2018- Adventures Thru Wonderland- Review

4/19/2018- A Dream Within A Dream- Excerpt

 4/20/2018- The BookWorm Drinketh- Review

4/20/2018- TwoChicks on Books- Excerpt

 

AND FINALLY - THE REVIEW!

Myth 4/5

With Kali, you learn right up front that she'll be playing both male and female roles throughout the book. While I find her ability to train and be courted by the same person while still hiding her identity a little unbelievable, it worked in the story. I also appreciated the practicality of needing heavy makeup and wig to keep up the farce.


Can we talk about this plot twist?! No, of course not. But guessing upcoming plot twists is one of my favorite parts of reading, and I only caught this one a half page before it was revealed. It's great, and makes me very eager for the sequel.

Magic 4/5

The reader is thrown into the action as soon as the story starts - learning of the rebel group terrorizing the kingdom and playing a little mental catch-up until a few chapters in.  So I was a little confused on the magic of the world - the living crystals, where they come from, how they're used, etc. I also appreciate how studying and using the living crystal's was the purpose of Kali's sister, Leaf, and the two were both well-rounded characters with their own interests.

Overall 4/5

There was a huge cliff-hanger ending, but that just means I've already pre-ordered the sequel.

Bound to You by Alyssa Brandon

Bound to You by Alyssa Brandon

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black